The Skills Commission is an independent body comprising leading figures from across the education sector, industry and the major political parties. It conducts research inquiries into important issues in skills, training and further education policy. The current research inquiry is entitled "Skills 2030: A World-Class Skills System".

Steering Group Members

Role Title Political party
Co-chair Barry Sheerman Labour and Co-operative
Co-Chair Sir John Hayes, MP Conservative
Commissioner Hayley Pells
Commissioner Prof. Keith McLay
Commissioner Robin Ghurbhurun
Commissioner Karen Green
Commissioner David Morgan
Commissioner Gemma Gathercole
Commissioner Joe Fitzsimons
Commissioner Peter Mayhew-Smith
Commissioner Lucy McLeod
Commissioner Graham Hasting-Evans
Commissioner Dr. Benjamin Silverstone


Registered contact

Group documents

Supporting organisations