Launching The Accessible Transport Policy Commission


In February 2023, the UK's first ever National Centre for Accessible Transport (ncat) was established. Funded by the Motability Foundation, with £20 million over the next seven years, the Centre will shape the future of transport by influencing the sector to ensure that all future travel systems have accessibility for disabled people at the heart of their creation and delivery. 

5 September marks the launch of ncat's Accessible Transport Policy Commission. The Commission is a cross-party Parliamentary forum of MPs and Peers who are committed to eliminating barriers to transport. Chaired by Baroness Tanni Grey-Thompson, the Commission will convene disabled people and transport professionals with policymakers to forge a new and more inclusive consensus about the future of the transport system. 

The Commission's first meeting will bring together Parliamentarians, disabled transport experts, policymakers at all levels of government and transport industry leaders to discuss how the Commission and ncat can work with the sector to help make transport in the UK more accessible.  

Baroness Grey-Thomson says:

"I'm delighted to be the chair of the new cross-party Accessible Transport Policy Commission. Whether it's to get to school, commute to work or visit friends, transport is a vital part of everyday life. However, too many disabled people face extra obstacles because of poor accessibility. We don't want special treatment - only the same experience as everyone else. With the support of the National Centre for Accessible Transport, I'm looking forward working with my fellow Commissioners to bring disabled people and transport professionals together with policymakers from across the UK to break down barriers so in future no one is left behind."

Baroness Grey-Thompson is joined on the Commission by a number of vice-chairs:  

  • Barry Sheerman, MP for Huddersfield (Labour and Co-operative Party) 

  • Lord Shinkwin (Conservative Party) 

  • Marion Fellows, MP for Motherwell and Wishaw (Scottish National Party) 

  • Paul Maynard, MP for Blackpool North and Cleveleys (Conservative Party) 

  • Ruth Cadbury, MP for Brentford and Isleworth (Labour Party) 

  • Zarah Sultana, MP for Coventry South (Labour Party) 

Its secretariat is provided by the cross-party think tank Policy Connect. 

To find out more about the event or The Commission, please contact clive.gilbert [at] (Clive[dot]Gilbert[at]policyconnect[dot]org[dot]uk)

Notes to editors

About the National Centre for Accessible Transport  

The National Centre for Accessible Transport (ncat) works to ensure that no disabled person faces challenges arising from poor access to transport. ncat aims to deliver on this mission by: 

  • Engaging with disabled people to better understand their experiences and co-design solutions 

  • Amplifying the voices of disabled people in all decision making 

  • Collaborating widely with all transport stakeholders 

  • Demonstrating good practice and impact to influence policy 

ncat is delivered by a consortium of organisations that includes Coventry University, Policy Connect, The Research Institute for Disabled Consumers (RiDC), Designability, Connected Places Catapult, and WSP. It is funded for the period 2023-2030 by the Motability Foundation. 

Find out more about ncat at

About Policy Connect 

Policy Connect is a cross-party think tank with five main policy pillars: Education and Skills; Industry, Technology & Innovation; Sustainability, Health; and Accessibility.  

We support parliamentary groups, forums and commissions for which Policy Connect provides the secretariat and delivers impactful policy research and event programmes.  Our collaboration with parliamentarians through these groups allows us to inform public policy in Westminster and Whitehall.  We are a social enterprise and are funded by a combination of regular annual membership subscriptions and time-limited sponsorships. 

We are proud to be a Disability Confident and London Living Wage employer, and a member of Social Enterprise UK.